Skip to main content.

WWW2008 Student Travel Support - Award Results

WWW2008 offers partial travel support for students to attend the conference. Funds were provided by AT&T, IBM, IFIP, Lenovo and Microsoft. Travel awards are allocated to deserving students to help them offset the costs of attending the conference.

The following 15 students are recipients of WWW2008 travel awards:

  1. Albert Au Yeung (University of Southampton, UK)
  2. Alvaro Pereira (Yahoo! Research and UFMG, Brazil)
  3. Bernhard Haslhofer (University of Vienna, Austria)
  4. Christian Becker (Freie Universität Berlin, Germany)
  5. Elena Nazzi (University of Udine, Italy)
  6. Francesco Ronzano (I.I.T. - C.N.R., Italy)
  7. Gong Cheng (Southeast University, China)
  8. Michal Tvarozek (Slovak University of Technology, Slovakia)
  9. Raffaella Lomuscio (University of Udine, Italy)
  10. Rui Lopes (University of Lisbon, Portugal)
  11. Vlad Tanasescu (KMi - Knowledge Media Inst.-Open University, UK)
  12. Wolf Richter (University of Oxford, UK)
  13. Xiao Ling (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
  14. Ying Yan (Fudan University, China)
  15. Yu-Ru Lin (Arizona State University, USA)

Second-round Awards

  1. Afraz Jaffri (University of Southampton, UK)
  2. Eyhab Al-Masri (University of Guelph, Canada)
  3. Hanhua Chen (Huazhong University of Technology, China)
  4. Jae-wook Ahn (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
  5. Krisztian Balog (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
  6. Peter Coetzee (Imperial College, UK)
  7. Vicenç Gómez (Pompeu Fabra University, Spain)

Further questions can be directed to Email contact: students at, the coordinator of the student travel award program.

Email contact: info at

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional